Announcing the Shortlisted Artists for the ACS Studio Prize 2020
August 26, 2020
Now in its fourth year, the ACS Studio Prize offers one student or recent graduate a £4,500 prize to help fund an artist's studio for a year in a UK city.

ACS is proud to be able to support artists and the artistic community over this difficult period of time and were delighted that this year was the prize's largest ever edition with almost 400 applications.

Today, we are pleased to announce the 32 shortlisted artists who have succeeded to the next stage of the competition.


The ACS Studio Prize was established in 2017 to help support the next generation of artists, after a number of our members spoke of the economic challenges they faced when starting their artistic careers. ACS realises how difficult it is to focus on your art, especially after leaving university and in the recent times of uncertainty.


Judging for the finalists and winner of the 2020 prize, will take place later this year by a panel comprising of ACS members, the renowned painter Celia Paul and pioneering contemporary artist Gavin Turk.


Sculptor Marco Miehling was awarded the inaugural Prize in 2017 by judges Tim Marlow, Artistic Director of the Royal Academy, and Maggi Hambling CBE. In 2018, painter Rebecca Harper received the Prize from celebrated artists Eileen Cooper RA and Rob & Nick Carter.


Last year, artist Cathie Pilkington RA, the Director & Curator of the Ingram Collection, Jo Baring alongside ACS’ very own Managing Director, Viscountess Bridgeman decide to award the prize to Araminta Blue Wieloch.


Congratulations to all of the outstanding shortlisted artists listed below:


Akeelah Bertram

Alexandra Searle

Alexandre Canonico

Andrew Loggie

Anna Stevenson

Annapurna Austin

Annie Graham

Benjamin Jones

Calum Stevenson

Camilla Hanney

Corey Whyte

David Hochhauser

Dion Kitson

Eddie Howard

Ella Walker

Eve Smith

Francisca Pinto

Gemma Thompson

Grzegorz Stefanski

Habib Hajallie

Helena García Hermida

Jack Whitelock

Jessie Davies

Jonas Pequeno

K Blick

Khushna Sulaman-Butt

Maddy Buttling

Nettle Grellier

Quentin Martin

Rafael Perez Evans

Sam King

Willa Hilditch


We look forward to the judges announcing the finalists and winner of the ACS Studio Prize 2020 in due course.