Announcing the Shortlisted Artists for the ACS Studio Prize 2021
September 1, 2021
Now in its fifth year, the ACS Studio Prize offers one student or recent graduate a £4,500 prize to help fund an artist's studio for a year in a UK city.

ACS is proud to be able to support artists and the artistic community over this difficult period and were delighted receive another large number of submissions for this year's Prize.

Today, we are pleased to announce the 27 shortlisted artists who have succeeded to the next stage of the competition.


The ACS Studio Prize was established in 2017 to help support the next generation of artists, after a number of our members spoke of the economic challenges they faced when starting their artistic careers. ACS realises how difficult it is to focus on your art, especially after leaving university and in the recent times of uncertainty.


Judging for the finalists and winner of the 2021 prize, will take place later this year by a panel comprising of artists Bob and Roberta Smith, Paul Huxley and ACS Managing Director, Harriet Bridgeman.


Sculptor Marco Miehling was awarded the inaugural Prize in 2017 by judges Tim Marlow, Artistic Director of the Royal Academy, and Maggi Hambling CBE. In 2018, painter Rebecca Harper received the Prize from celebrated artists Eileen Cooper RA and Rob & Nick Carter. Artist Cathie Pilkington RA and the Director & Curator of the Ingram Collection, Jo Baring decided to award the prize to Araminta Blue Wieloch.

Last year, ACS members painter Celia Paul, and pioneering contemporary artist Gavin Turk awarded the Prize to multidisciplinary artist Dion Kitson. Working across film and sculpture, Kitson’s practice reflects the surreal banality of everyday life, focusing on the mundane over the sublime.


Congratulations to all of the artists shortlisted for this year’s ACS Studio Prize:


Anna Evans

Annie Graham

Aysha Nagieva

Camilla Hanney

Dorcas Casey

Eva Gold

Ewan Keenan

Felix Chesher

Grzegorz Stefanski

Habib Hajallie

Hannah Buchanan

Harriet Bone

Helena García Hermida

Irini Bachlitzanaki

Joe Bucklow

Jonas Pequeno

Joshua Donkor

Jules Bleckman

K Blick

Latifah Alsaid Stranack

Maddy Buttling

Mohammed Adal

Niamh Birch

Pawel Tajer

Rebecca Marrs

Rufus Martin

Sophie Giller


We look forward to the judges announcing the finalists and winner of the ACS Studio Prize 2021 in due course.