Announcing the Shortlisted Artists for the ACS Studio Prize 2022
August 23, 2022
Now in its sixth year, the ACS Studio Prize offers one student or recent graduate a £4,500 prize to help fund an artist's studio for a year in a UK city of their choice.

ACS is proud to support artists and the artistic community, and were delighted to receive close to 300 submissions for this year's Prize.

Today, we are pleased to announce 24 artists who have been shortlisted to the next stage of the competition.


The ACS Studio Prize was established in 2017 to help support the next generation of artists, after a number of our members spoke of the economic challenges they faced when starting their artistic careers. ACS realises how difficult it is to focus on your art, especially after leaving university and in the recent times of uncertainty.


The 2022 Prize will be judged by artist Flora Yukhnovich, past winner of the ACS Studio Residency at the City & Guilds of London Art School, curator and founder of the Palazzo Monti, Edoardo Monti and the Managing Director of ACS, Lady Bridgeman.


Sculptor Marco Miehling was awarded the inaugural Prize in 2017 by judges Tim Marlow, Artistic Director of the Royal Academy, and Maggi Hambling CBE. In 2018, painter Rebecca Harper received the Prize from celebrated artists Eileen Cooper RA and Rob & Nick Carter. Artist Cathie Pilkington RA and the Director & Curator of the Ingram Collection, Jo Baring decided to award the prize to Araminta Blue Wieloch. In 2020 ACS members painter Celia Paul, and pioneering contemporary artist Gavin Turk awarded the Prize to multidisciplinary artist Dion Kitson.


Last year, ACS member Paul Huxley RA and Bob and Roberta Smith OBE RA awarded the Prize to University of West England (UWE Bristol) graduate Dorcas Casey.


Congratulations to all of the artists shortlisted for this year’s ACS Studio Prize:


Ofunne Azinge, Manchester Metropolitan University


Irini Bachlitzanaki, Royal Academy Schools


Joe  Bucklow, City and Guilds London Art School


Takudzwa Chandiwana, Birmingham City University


Andreana Dobreva, Academy of Fine Arts Munich


Frances Drayson, Royal Academy Schools


Michaela Elias , Cornish College of the Arts


Nada Elkalaawy, Slade School of Fine Art


Helena Garcia Hermida, Sichuan University


David Gardner, Royal Drawing School


Emily Gillbanks, Royal College of Art


Eva Gold, Royal Academy Schools


Lauren Goldie, University Of The Arts London – Central Saint Martins


Camilla Hanney, Goldsmiths, University of London


Georgina Harris, Lancaster University


Clara Hastrup, Royal Academy Schools


Nell WK Lyhne, University Of The Arts London – Chelsea College of Arts


Lindsey McLean, Slade School of Fine Art


Adam Muscat, University Of The Arts London – Central Saint Martins


Jo Northedge, Robert Gordon University


Rafael  Perez Evans, Goldsmiths, University of London


Alexandra Searle, Slade School of Fine Art


Sabrina Shah, Royal College of Art


Jack Sutherland, Slade School of Fine Art


We look forward to the judges announcing the finalists and winner of the ACS Studio Prize 2022 in due course.