'She dealt her pretty words like Blades' © David Gardner, 2022 Winner

Announcing the Shortlisted Artists for the ACS Studio Prize 2023
July 28, 2023
Now in its seventh year, the ACS Studio Prize offers one student or recent graduate a £6,000 prize to help fund an artist's studio for a year in a UK city of their choice.

ACS is proud to support artists and the artistic community, and were delighted to receive close to 300 submissions for this year's Prize.

Today, we are pleased to announce the 22 artists who have been shortlisted to the next stage of the competition.


The ACS Studio Prize was established in 2017 to help support the next generation of artists after a number of our members spoke of the economic challenges they faced when starting their artistic careers. ACS realises how difficult it is to focus on your art, especially after leaving university and in the recent times of uncertainty.


This year the judges were celebrated YBA and ACS member Mat Collishaw, the Director of Pallant House Gallery, Simon Martin and the Managing Director of ACS, Viscountess Bridgeman CBE.


Sculptor Marco Miehling was awarded the inaugural Prize in 2017 by judges Tim Marlow, Artistic Director of the Royal Academy, and Maggi Hambling CBE. In 2018, painter Rebecca Harper received the Prize from celebrated artists Eileen Cooper RA and Rob & Nick Carter. Artist Cathie Pilkington RA and the Director & Curator of the Ingram Collection, Jo Baring decided to award the prize to Araminta Blue Wieloch. In 2020 ACS members painter Celia Paul, and pioneering contemporary artist Gavin Turk awarded the Prize to multidisciplinary artist Dion Kitson. In 2021, ACS member Paul Huxley RA and Bob and Roberta Smith OBE RA awarded the Prize to University of West England (UWE Bristol) graduate Dorcas Casey


Last year, renowned artist and ACS member Flora Yukhnovich, founder and curator of the Palazzo Monti, Edoardo Monti and ACS Managing Director, Lady Bridgeman awarded the Prize to Royal Drawing School post-graduate David Gardner. A painter whose work is rooted in his own body and spirituality.


Congratulations to all of the artists shortlisted for this year’s ACS Studio Prize:


Lucrezia Abatzoglu, Camberwell College of Arts


Joseph Aina, Royal College of Art


Irini Bachlitzanaki, Royal Academy Schools


Chloe Barnes, University of the West of England, Bristol


Joe Bucklow, City & Guilds of London Art School


Tom Bull, Goldsmiths, University of London


Thomas Cameron, City & Guilds of London Art School


Elizabeth Dimitroff, Royal College of Art


Joshua Donkor, Cardiff Metropolitan School of Art and Design


Eva Gold, Royal Academy Schools


Lewis Graham, University of Worcester


Clara Hastrup, Royal Academy Schools


Bryony Hillman, University of the Arts, London


Mary Macken Allen, Turps Art School


Jim McLean, Turps Art School


Jennifer Nieuwland, City & Guilds of London Art School


Blythe Plenderleith, Royal College of Art


Sabrina Shah, Royal College of Art


Beth Simcock, The Ruskin School of Art


Sophie Templeton, Glasgow School of Art


Hannah Tilson, Royal Drawing School


Georg Wilson, Royal College of Art


We look forward to the judges announcing the finalists and winner of the ACS Studio Prize 2023 in due course.